1800 - 425 - 31111
Our Visitors:

Nilgiri Mountain Railway

TTDC / Nilgiri Mountain Railway

Built by the British in 1908, a ride on this from Mettupalayam to Ooty is much like a fairy tale. Traversing through 208 serpentine curves, 16 tunnels and 250 waterfalls, the 4 hour journey on this little train, through the picturesque landscapes and lush green tea estates is truly an incredible experience. As the small vintage steel locomotive chugs on through the mountains, the smell of the woods and the 2240 meter ascent into the clouds will certainly leave you on Cloud 9. An experience that you just cant afford to miss however old or young you are.

UNESCO declared the Nilgiri Mountain Railway as an extension to the World Heritage Site of the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway in 2005.

Photo Gallery


Download Mobile App